Vierwaldstättersee…

…is the name of the lake on which Lucerne sits, I think. That is what is written down the middle on the map anyway! So, I got up bright and early, thankful that the rain from during the night had stopped, and caught a boat over this lake. I do enjoy a boat ride, and for some reason, knocking off 30km by boat doesn’t seem as much like cheating as a train does! This will leave me in full fitness for the 1000m climb this afternoon, rather than arriving there having already done 30km+. The lake is beautiful and quiet at this time in the morning, a great way to start the day.

I must admit to being a little nervous, but excited at the same time. The only thing I can think to compare it to is the morning of a trip to Alton Towers, which I always loved; excited in anticipation, but also a but anxious about the big rides (in a good way.)
Part of me is nervous that I just won’t manage it, which will be disappointing, but not a massive shock when you consider my general fitness levels. Although I am not sure what ‘not making it’ will look like? Give up half way and come back down? I’d walk what is left surely? I have asked for The Lord’s help, but he has already died for me which is what I most need help for, so I know His help may well come in helping me cope with taking the train!

Anyway, today is the harder climb apparently, and if necessary I can take another day rest tomorrow and summit on Wednesday. This feels like the goal at the moment and I haven’t given much thought to the following three weeks! Mentally it all seems like downhill.

This entry was posted in Cephalonia 2010, On the road. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

