Day 23…

…has been another ideal day; not too easy, but manageable by me, and even enjoyable. Another good night’s sleep, although quite cold. I woke to completely blue skies. As I was leaving the campsite I noticed the espresso machine in the campsite café and couldn’t resist! Inside I ended up chatting to a British couple. I haven’t found it common to meet Brits on the campsites so it was pleasant to chat in English for a while. It was also pleasant to have people interested and even impressed with what I am doing!!

On the road, after the initial 2km climb into Volterra, it was a great downhill, but it was short-lived! I had heard Tuscany was quite flat, but I am sure I have done more climbing today than falling. My route passed a couple of great castles, and picturesque towns on adjacent hills, it was a shame I didn’t stop, but you can’t stop everywhere and I wanted to get to Siena in time to look around. I made pretty good time, for me, and again it was a good plan because the hill to the campsite was the last I could’ve managed!

It is another great campsite, with a big pool! Sadly there are also lots of Americans being loud around it. After a swim I got the bus into town. I was too late for the info office so I had no idea what there was to see, I just wandered around. Siena is a very likeable city. The huge square, or rather circle, is a beautiful place to sit and watch life go by. It is one of those small cities where I could see myself living.

Evidently there is quite a trail of cyclists through here on the way to Rome. There is even a discount for a campsite in Rome if you cycle from here. The plan tomorrow is to head toward Lago di Bolsena, which is too far away, but the next place with a campsite marked on the map. Hopefully there will be a site about half-way, otherwise I will keep going as long as I can and then ‘wild’ camp. Still on track for Rome by the weekend!

This entry was posted in Cephalonia 2010, On the road. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 23…

  1. Katherine Stickland says:

    Hi Chris, Dave and I have been following your blog, and we are so proud of you and the adventure you are on. Hope you are having a brilliant time.
    After you put up the words of How Great Thou Art, I thought I would post these lyrics for you, remember singing this at New Word Alive a couple of years ago? Hope they help keep your legs moving.

    See, What a Morning

    See, what a morning, gloriously bright,
    With the dawning of hope in Jerusalem:
    Folded the grave-clothes, tomb filled with light,
    As the angels announce, “Christ is risen!”
    See God’s salvation plan,
    Wrought in love, borne in pain, paid in sacrifice,
    Fulfilled in Christ, the Man,
    For He lives: Christ is risen from the dead!

    See Mary weeping. “Where is He laid?”
    As in sorrow she turns from the empty tomb;
    Hears a voice speaking, calling her name:
    It’s the master, the Lord raised to life again!
    The voice that spans the years,
    Speaking life, stirring hope, brining peace to us,
    Will sound till he appears.
    For He lives: Christ is risen from the dead!

    One with the Father, Ancient of Days,
    Through the Spirit who clothes faith with certainty.
    Honour and blessing, glory and praise
    To the King crowned with power and authority!
    And we are raised with Him.
    Death is dead, love is won, Christ has conquered:
    And we shall reign with Him.
    For He lives: Christ is risen from the dead!

    • chramm says:

      Thanks Kat! I sat by the lake this morning and sang it.

      -original message- Subject: [cHris cycles to Kephalonia] Comment: “Day 23…”

Leave a Reply

