50 mins in Benevento…

…so what do you do?

Thankfully the first thing I did was check the departures so I knew which platform I was heading for! What do you know? There is no train listed to Foggia at 1424. In fact, there didn’t appear to be any train to Foggia at any time! I headed for the ticket office to ask some questions, clutching my schedule card given to me on Monday. The ticket office was closed. I looked around helplessly, and must have looked very pathetic because a man who had just got off a bus in front of the station came and asked if I was ok? I showed him the card and pointed to the Foggia connection and then pointed to the departure board with no such train. He gave a big smile, pointed at his bus, gave a little driving action with his hands, pointed to himself and said, ‘I go to Foggia!’
‘Con Bicicletta?’ I asked. He gave that all too familiar teeth sucking and said, reluctantly, but in a happy to help kind of way, ‘OK.’

day c31 on the bus

I think this is the official service. I don’t know if it is temporary or normal, and I don’t really care- it just remains to be seen if I meet my connection to Bari…

This entry was posted in Cephalonia 2010, On the road. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

